• BREAKING NEWS ABC shows live and on-demand -- Download the WATCH ABC app!

Save money with computer and smart-phone apps

January 18, 2011 12:00:00 AM PST
You might call yourself frugal, or even a proud cheapskate. Either way, there's an app for that. Today more and more computer and smart-phone applications are specifically designed to save you money.Here are seven apps that can save you cash.

"Saving money is more important than ever," said Tracy Sebastian.

Tracy is a busy mother of four and a writer for iPhone Life magazine.

She uses apps every day to save money.

"Anytime you need gas, groceries, you need to buy new shoes for the kids -- anything," said Tracy.

One of her favorites? Gas Buddy.

"Gas Buddy is a cool app. You just open it up, press where you are and it shows you all the gas stations in your local area and what their prices are," said Tracy.

Directions to a gas station with cheaper prices are free and just a tap away.

Got a lead-foot? Too many speeding tickets? Check out the free Cobra app.

"It tells you where the red-ight cameras are and where the local speed traps are," said Tracy.

And how many times have you gone out to lunch and been stuck with more than your share of the bill? The Check Please app can help.

"You plug in the amount of the bill, the tip you want to leave and how many people were at lunch with you. It will automatically split it up, letting each person know exactly what they owe," said Tracy.

The Mint app is all about your money. It gives you an instant snapshot of your budget, investments, overall wealth and how much you can spend. Once again, it's free.

"So when you go to that restaurant, you know if you should order the taco or the filet mignon," said Tracy.

One way you can save on your long-distance phone bill is by using Skype. Using your iPhone or your computer you can actually make these calls without any charge. Not only that, you get to see the person on the other end.

Shopping? Do it the savvy way with the free ShopSavvy app. Just scan the bar code of any product using your smart-phone's camera.

ShopSavvy then searches for the best prices online and through the inventories of nearby stores using your phone's built-in GPS.

Grocery IQ is another free shopping app. It lets you build and manage your grocery shopping list. Running out of a favorite food? Scan the barcode to add it your list. Sync or share the list with your spouse or roommate. You can even find coupons based on your location.

Now you were promised seven money-saving apps, so this is a bonus: ABC7's app can be downloaded for free onto your iPhone, BlackBerry, Android and your iPad.

Then tap on Save Money at the bottom of the screen and that's where you'll find all of our money-saving apps.

Phone apps to save you money:

Gas Buddy -- free -- http://gasbuddy.com

Cobra iRadar -- free -- http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/cobra-iradar

Check Please -- .99 cents


Mint -- free

Skype -- free

ShopSavvy Barcode Scanner -- free

Grocery IQ -- free

ATM Hunter

Kids Meal Deals -- for iPhone and BlackBerry -- http://www.kidsmealdeals.com/page/mobile

Kids Eat Free -- for iPhone -- http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/kidseatfree

Drink Specials App -- for iPhone -- http://drinkspecialsapp.com/

Stanza -- for Apple -- http://www.lexcycle.com/

Spend - Budgeting -- for iPhone -- http://itunes.apple.com/app/spend-budgeting

Quicken -- for iPhone -- http://quicken.intuit.com

BillMinder -- for iPhone -- http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/billminder

BillTracker -- for iPhone -- http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/billtracker

Coupon Sherpa Mobile Coupons -- for iPhone -- http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/coupon-sherpa-mobile-coupons

Cellfire Grocery Coupons -- for iPhone, Android, BlackBerry -- http://www.cellfire.com

Economy Shopping (Lite) -- for iPhone -- http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/economy-shopping-lite-shopping

Yowza! Mobile Coupons -- for iPhone -- http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/yowza-mobile-coupons

Coupon Cabin -- for iPhone -- http://www.appstorehq.com/couponcabin

Textfree Unlimited -- for iPhone -- http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/textfree-unlimited-send-text

Cheap Gas! -- for iPhone -- http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/cheap-gas

Share-a-bill -- for iPhone -- http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/share-a-bill

Yoink! -- for iPhone -- http://itunes.apple.com/au/app/yoink

Craigslist Pro -- for iPhone -- http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/craigspro-craigslist-pro

Yard Sale Mapper -- for iPhone -- http://www.appolicious.com/tech/apps/71560-yard-sale-mapper

PayPal -- for iPhone, Android, BlackBerry -- https://www.paypal.com

eBay Mobile -- for iPhone -- http://mobile.ebay.com/

Vlingo -- for iPhone, Android, BlackBerry -- http://www.vlingo.com/

Word Lens -- for iPhone -- http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/word-lens

RepairPal -- for iPhone and Android -- http://repairpal.com/mobile

Hair Makeover -- for iPhone -- http://www.hairmakeoverapp.com/

Awesome Note -- for iPhone -- http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/awesome-note-todo

Zinio Magazine Newsstand & Reader -- for iPhone -- http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/zinio-magazine

Snapfinger - Restaurant Ordering


Load Comments