• BREAKING NEWS ABC shows live and on-demand -- Download the WATCH ABC app!

OTRC: Kate Middleton's wedding dress: Designer, cost still a question

UPDATE 4/29/2011 The dress turned out to be designed by Sarah Burton at Alexander McQueen.

The rumor mill of designers for Kate Middleton's wedding dress has been running since the couple announced their engagement in November 2010. The list of rumored designers included Sarah Burton of the Alexander McQueen fashion house, Bruce Oldfield, Philippa Lepley and Daniela Issa Helayel.

However, the U.K. newspaper The Daily Mail, speculates that Middleton has designed her own wedding dress with help from Sophie Cranston of the Lib?lula label. Middleton wore Lib?lula to a friend's wedding in January.

According to the paper, Cranston worked for the late Alexander McQueen and Alice Temperley before she founded her own label Lib?lula in 2002. She has designed dresses for Emma Watson.

The newspaper also speculates the gown will be ivory satin and lace with a 10 foot train and pearl button detail.

Middleton's sister, Philippa Charlotte "Pippa" Middleton, who is the maid of honor, will wear a dress by British designer Nicki Macfarlane, reports People magazine. Macfarlane designed dresses for all four of the bridesmaids as well, which include Prince Edward's daughter Lady Louise Windsor, 7, the Hon. Margarita Armstrong-Jones, 8, and 3-year-olds Grace van Cutsem (daughter of Williams friend) and Eliza Lopes (Camilla, Duchess of Cornwall's granddaughter).

As for Prince William, it has been reported by People magazine that he will wear a uniform of Colonel of the Irish Guards. The uniform features a scarlet jacket, a gold and crimson sash as well as a forge cap, according to the magazine. In addition, he will wear a "Garter Sash with the Wings of the Royal Air Force, the Garter Star and the Golden Jubilee Medal."

The best man, Prince Harry, will wear the uniform of Captain of the Household Cavalry. The Prince's father, Prince Charles, will wear Royal Navy Number One Dress, according to the magazine. He has been Admiral of the Royal Navy since 2006.

The ceremony is set to begin at Westminster Abbey on Friday April 29, 2011 at 11 a.m. GMT which is 6 a.m. ET and 3 a.m. PT. OnTheRedCarpet.com will have live coverage of the event at 1 a.m. PT/ 4 a.m. ET. The wedding reception will be held at Buckingham Palace.

Prince Harry will be the best man and Middleton's sister, Pippa, will be the maid of honor.

Celebrities expected to appear include Elton John and David and Victoria Beckham. Check out a full timeline of the wedding day here.

(Copyright ©2014 OnTheRedCarpet.com. All Rights Reserved.)

Load Comments