• BREAKING NEWS ABC shows live and on-demand -- Download the WATCH ABC app!

OTRC: Patti Smith releases new album, 'Outside Society,' which contains old favorites

Patti Smith appears on the cover of her 2011 album 'Outside Society.' / Patti Smith performs at the Hop Farm Music Festival in the UK on July 2, 2011. (Sony Legacy / flickr.com/photos/24365773@N03/)

Veteran punk rocker Patti Smith recently released the album "Outside Society," a new collection of some of her most popular songs, including her hit 1978 single "Because The Night" and her cover of Nirvana's "Smells Like Teen Spirit."

The record is available in stores as of Tuesday, August 23. It has also been released on vinyl as a double LP.

Smith, 64, rose to fame as a singer and songwriter in the 1970s and is often dubbed the "Godmother of Punk." She is also known as an anti-war activist, a poet and an author. She won the National Book Award in 2010 for her memoir "Just Kids," which is set to be made into a film.

"Outside Society," Smith's fourth compilation record, is made up of 18 remastered tracks from her past albums. The fifth track, "Because The Night" was originally featured on her 1978 record "Easter" and was one of her biggest commercial hits. The song was written by Smith and rock singer Bruce Springsteen and has been covered by the likes of 10,000 Maniacs, Kim Wilde and KT Tunstall.

"Outside Society" also contains Smith's popular but controversial song "Rock n' Roll (Expletive)," whose title contains a racial slur. Its lyrics paraphrase the title of her new album, as she uses the deragatory word to refer to all people "outside of society," including herself. The song is from her album "Easter" and was also featured on the soundtrack of the 1994 film "Natural Born Killers."

Smith's cover of "Smells Like Teen Spirit" was featured on her 10th and most recent studio album, "Twelve," which was released in 2007 and also contained covers of songs by The Rolling Stones, The Beatles and Bob Dylan. The original version of "Smells Like Teen Spirit" by Nirvana was released in 1991. It marked one of the grunge rock band's most successful singles and helped launch the group to global fame ahead of the death of lead singer Kurt Cobain in 1994.

In March 2007, Smith was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. Earlier this year, she was named one of Time magazine's most influential people in the world (see who else made the list).

Check out a track listing for Patti Smith's album "Outside Society" below.
1. "Gloria"
2. "Free Money"
3. "Ain't It Strange"
4. "Pissing in a River"
5. "Because the Night"
6. "Rock n' Roll (Expletive)"
7. "Dancing Barefoot"
8. "Frederick"
9. "So You Wanna Be a Rock n' Roll Star"
10. "People Have the Power"
11. "Up There Down There"
12. "Beneath the Southern Cross"
13. "Summer Cannibals"
14. "1959"
15. "Glitter in Their Eyes"
16. "Lo and Beholden (Radio Edit)"
17. "Smells Like Teen Spirit"
18. "Trampin'"

(Copyright ©2018 OnTheRedCarpet.com. All Rights Reserved.)