• BREAKING NEWS ABC shows live and on-demand -- Download the WATCH ABC app!

OTRC: Guns N' Roses, Red Hot Chili Peppers to be inducted into Rock Hall - GNR reunion in the works?

Guns N' Roses, the Red Hot Chili Peppers and the Beastie Boys are among the bands set to be inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2012, organizers announced on Wednesday, December 7.

The inclusion of Guns N' Roses raises the possibility of several of the band's most known musicians reuniting on stage for the first time in about 20 years. Rock Hall inductions of the past have brought together former members of groups such as The Police and The Eagles.

Singer Axl Rose is the only original member of Guns N' Roses. Musicians such as drummer Steven Adler, bassist Duff McKagan and guitarists Izzy Stradlin and Slash quit or were ousted from the band amid drug issues, legal disputes and creative differences.

If Axl and the other guys will consider doing it, it would be a dream come true for me," Adler told Rolling Stone, when asked about a stage reunion, adding: "The drama hasn't stopped for 25 years. I don't foresee it stopping, but I know there's love between all five of us. I know there is. Not just four of us, five of us. Five. We owe it to the fans. The LEAST we can do is give them one great performance."

Rose has not commented. Nowadays, The 49-year-old performs with other musicians under the band's name, but Guns N' Roses in its current form is not as popular as it was in the 1980s and 1990s, when it released hits such as "Sweet Child O' Mine," "Don't Cry," "November Rain" and "Paradise City."

Most of the Red Hot Chili Peppers' original band members still remain - notably singer Anthony Kiedis and bassist Flea. Kiedis told Rolling Stone that his father cried when he told him the group was going to be inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

The group is known for hits such as "Give It Away" and "Under The Bridge." The Red Hot Chili Peppers released their 10th studio album, "I'm With You," in August and recently added some U.S. dates to its current tour.

The Beastie Boys, a hip hop trio that consists of Michael Diamond, Adam Yauch and Adam Horovitz, formed in the late 1970s and achieved commercial success with the 1987 rock anthem "(You Gotta) Fight for Your Right (To Party!)." They later incorporated more electronic sounds, spurring the 1995 hit " "Intergalactic."

Others set to be inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame are Donovan, Laura Nyro and The Small Faces/The Faces. Freddie King, a blues guitarist who died in 1976, is also included. The honors will be handed out on April 14, 2012 at the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony in Cleveland. The event will be open to the public and which is set to air on the HBO cable network in early May.

Artists and bands who were nominated but not chosen this year include Joan Jett, The Cure, Eric B. & Rakim, Heart, Rufus with Chaka Khan, The Spinners, Donna Summer and War.

Earlier this year, shock rocker Allice Cooper, Neil Diamond, Tom Waits, Darlene Love, Dr. John and pianist Leon Russell were inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

The hall has honored more than 600 artists, including Phil Collin's old rock group Genesis and Swedish pop band ABBA. The inductees are chosen by more than 500 voters of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Foundation.

(Copyright ©2018 OnTheRedCarpet.com. All Rights Reserved.)