• BREAKING NEWS ABC shows live and on-demand -- Download the WATCH ABC app!

OTRC: Film Independent Spirit Awards 2012: Full list of winners

The winners for the 2012 Film Independent Spirit Awards were announced on Saturday, February 25 in a ceremony in Santa Monica, California.

The 27th annual Film Independent Spirit Awards ceremony was hosted by Seth Rogen and will be broadcast on February 25 at 10 p.m. ET on IFC.

"The Film Independent Spirit Awards recognize the finest artistic achievements across the broad spectrum of independent filmmaking -- from emerging talent working on a shoestring budget to established auteurs," Film Independent Senior Director Sean McManus said in a statement. "The 2012 nominees tell their stories in such an authentic way and reflect the inclusive nature of the independent filmmaking community. We are delighted to support them and expand the audience for their work."

The full list of nominees for the Independent Spirit Awards was announced on November 29,and included multiple nominations for films like "Drive," "The Artist," and "50/50." The silent black and white film "The Artist" and the drama "Take Shelter" led the nominations with five nods each.

Check out the full list of winners below.

Best Feature
"Take Shelter"
WINNER: "The Artist"
"The Descendants"

Best Director
WINNER: Michel Hazanavicius - "The Artist"
Mike Mills - "Beginners"
Jeff Nichols - "Take Shelter"
Alexander Payne - "The Descendants"
Nicolas Winding Refn - "Drive"

Best Screenplay
Joseph Cedar - "Footnote"
Michel Hazanavicius - "The Artist"
Tom McCarthy - "Win Win"
Mike Mills - "Beginners"
WINNER: Alexander Payne, Nat Faxon, Jim Rash - "The Descendants"

Best First Feature
Mike Cahill - "Another Earth"
Patrick Wang - "In the Family"
WINNER: J.C. Chandor - "Margin Call"
Sean Durkin - "Martha Marcy May Marlene"
Robbie Pickering - "Natural Selection"

Best First Screenplay
Mike Cahill, Brit Marling - "Another Earth"
J.C. Chandor - "Margin Call"
Patrick deWitt - "Terri"
Phil Johnston - "Cedar Rapids"
WINNER: Will Reiser - "50/50"

John Cassavetes Award - Given to the best feature made for under $500,000
"Hello Lonesome"
WINNER: "Pariah"
"The Dynamiter"

Best Female Lead
Lauren Ambrose - "Think of Me"
Rachael Harris - "Natural Selection"
Adepero Oduye - "Pariah"
Elizabeth Olsen - "Martha Marcy May Marlene"
WINNER: Michelle Williams - "My Week with Marilyn"

Best Male Lead
Demián Bichir - "A Better Life"
WINNER: Jean Dujardin - "The Artist"
Ryan Gosling - "Drive"
Woody Harrelson - "Rampart"
Michael Shannon - "Take Shelter"

Best Supporting Female
Jessica Chastain - "Take Shelter"
Anjelica Huston - "50/50"
Janet McTeer - "Albert Nobbs"
Harmony Santana - "Gun Hill Road"
WINNER: Shailene Woodley - "The Descendants"

Best Supporting Male
Albert Brooks - "Drive"
John Hawkes - "Martha Marcy May Marlene"
WINNER: Christopher Plummer - "Beginners"
John C. Reilly - "Cedar Rapids"
Corey Stoll - "Midnight in Paris"

Best Cinematography
Joel Hodge - "Bellflower"
Benjamin Kasulke - "The Off Hours"
Darius Khondji - "Midnight in Paris"
WINNER: Guillaume Schiffman - "The Artist"
Jeffrey Waldron - "The Dynamiter"

Best Documentary
"An African Election"
"Bill Cunningham New York"
WINNER: "The Interrupters"
"The Redemption of General Butt Naked"
"We Were Here"

Best International Film
WINNER: "A Separation" (Iran)
"Melancholia" (Denmark/Sweden/France/Germany)
"Shame" (UK)
"The Kid With a Bike" (Belgium/France/Italy)
"Tyrannosaur" (UK)

Piaget Producers Award - The 15th annual Piaget Producers Award honors emerging producers who, despite highly limited resources demonstrate the creativity, tenacity, and vision required to produce quality, independent films. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by Piaget.
Chad Burris - "Mosquita y Mari"
WINNER: Sophia Lin - "Take Shelter"
Josh Mond - "Martha Marcy May Marlene"

Someone To Watch Award - The 18th annual Someone to Watch Award recognizes a talented filmmaker of singular vision who has not yet received appropriate recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant.
Simon Arthur - "Silver Tongues"
WINNER: Mark Jackson - "Without"
Nicholas Ozeki - "Mamitas"

Truer Than Fiction Award - The 17th annual Truer Than Fiction Award is presented to an emerging director of non-fiction features who has not yet received significant recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant.
WINNER: Heather Courtney - "Where Soldiers Come From"
Danfung Dennis - "Hell and Back Again"
Alma Har'el - "Bombay Beach"

Robert Altman Award
"Margin Call"

(Copyright ©2018 OnTheRedCarpet.com. All Rights Reserved.)