• BREAKING NEWS ABC shows live and on-demand -- Download the WATCH ABC app!

OTRC: Guns N' Roses, Red Hot Chili Peppers inducted into the Rock Hall of Fame

Guns N' Roses, the Red Hot Chili Peppers and the Beastie Boys are among the bands inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame on April 14, 2012.

Several musicians being honored could not (or chose not to) attend the ceremony, including Axl Rose, Beastie Boys' Adam "MCA" Yauch and Rod Stewart, who was set to be inducted for the second time with his former band, Faces.

"I'm absolutely devastated," Stewart, who came down with the flu, said in a statement to Reuters. "Shattered that I'm going to miss my second induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame - and this time alongside my mates."

Guns N' Roses singer Axl Rose made headlines earlier in the week after announcing that he "respectfully declines" his inclusion in general, saying in a long rant that his decision is personal.

"No offense meant to anyone but the Hall Of Fame Induction Ceremony doesn't appear to be somewhere I'm actually wanted or respected," Rose said in a Facebook message posted on Wednesday, April 11.

Rose is the only original member of Guns N' Roses. Musicians such as drummer Steven Adler, bassist Duff McKagan and guitarists Izzy Stradlin and Slash quit or were ousted from the band amid drug issues, legal disputes and creative differences.

Most of the Red Hot Chili Peppers' original band members still remain - notably singer Anthony Kiedis and bassist Flea. Kiedis told Rolling Stone that his father cried when he told him the group was going to be inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

The group is known for hits such as "Give It Away" and "Under The Bridge." The Red Hot Chili Peppers released their 10th studio album, "I'm With You," in August and recently added some U.S. dates to its current tour.

The Beastie Boys, a hip hop trio that consists of Michael Diamond, Adam Yauch and Adam Horovitz, formed in the late 1970s and achieved commercial success with the 1987 rock anthem "(You Gotta) Fight for Your Right (To Party!)." They later incorporated more electronic sounds, spurring the 1995 hit "Intergalactic."

The group announced that Yauch would not be able attend the induction ceremony and therefore, the trio could not perform. Yauch revealed in July 2009 that he had cancer in a salivary gland in his neck. He announced last year that he is optimistic about treatment, but not cancer free.

"Beastie Boys regret that Adam 'MCA' Yauch will be unable to join Mike 'Mike D' Diamond and Adam 'Adrock' Horovitz at the band's induction into the Rock n Roll Hall of Fame in April," the group told Rolling Stone magazine. "Mike, Adam and Adam are truly grateful for the honor but with only two of the three Beastie Boys attending, they will unfortunately not be able to perform at the ceremony."

Others set to be inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame are Donovan, Laura Nyro and The Small Faces/The Faces. Freddie King, a blues guitarist who died in 1976, is also included. The honors were handed out on April 14, 2012 at the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony in Cleveland. The event is open to the public and is set to air on the HBO cable network in early May.

Artists and bands who were nominated but not chosen this year include Joan Jett, The Cure, Eric B. & Rakim, Heart, Rufus with Chaka Khan, The Spinners, Donna Summer and War.

Earlier this year, shock rocker Alice Cooper (pictured above), Neil Diamond, Tom Waits, Darlene Love, Dr. John and pianist Leon Russell were inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

The hall has honored more than 600 artists, including Phil Collin's old rock group Genesis and Swedish pop band ABBA. The inductees are chosen by more than 500 voters of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Foundation.

(Copyright ©2018 OnTheRedCarpet.com. All Rights Reserved.)