• BREAKING NEWS ABC shows live and on-demand -- Download the WATCH ABC app!

OTRC: Film Independent Spirit Awards 2013: Full list of winners

Jennifer Lawrence and Bradley Cooper appear in a scene from the 2012 film 'Silver Linings Playbook.' (The Weinstein Company)

The 28th annual Film Independent Spirit Awards were held on Saturday, February 23, in Los Angeles, and the Oscar-nominated film "Silver Linings Playbook" won big, earning four awards at the ceremony.

The movie won the Best Feature prize at the ceremony. Oscar-nominee Jennifer Lawrence took home the award for best actress while the film's Oscar-nominated director, David O. Russell, nabbed prizes for Best Director and Best Screenplay.

Bradley Cooper, who is also nominated for an Oscar in the Best Actor in a Leading Role category for his part in the film, lost out on an award to "The Sessions" actor John Hawkes.

The award for Best Supporting Actor went to Matthew McConaughey as a flamboyant stripper in "Magic Mike."

"I had to take my pants off to win a trophy," McConaughey said, according to The Associated Press. The actor noted that five of his last six films were independent productions and said they were the "most creative fun of my acting career, hands down."

Check out a full list of 2013 Oscar nominations. The Oscar ceremony will air live on Sunday, February 24 on ABC, OTRC.com's parent company.

You can also check out the interactive My Picks 2013 Official Oscar Ballot.

Check out the full list of winners of the Independent Spirit Awards below.

Best Feature
"Beasts of the Southern Wild"
"Keep the Lights On"
"Moonrise Kingdom"
"Silver Linings Playbook" -- WINNER

Best Director
Wes Anderson - "Moonrise Kingdom"
Julia Loktev - "The Loneliest Planet"
David O. Russell - "Silver Linings Playbook" -- WINNER
Ira Sachs - "Keep the Lights On"
Benh Zeitlin - "Beasts of the Southern Wild"

Best Screenplay
Wes Anderson & Roman Coppola - "Moonrise Kingdom"
Zoe Kazan - "Ruby Sparks"
Martin McDonagh - "Seven Psychopaths"
David O. Russell - "Silver Linings Playbook" -- WINNER
Ira Sachs - "Keep the Lights On"

Best First Feature (Award given to the director and producer)
"Fill the Void"
DIRECTOR: Rama Burshtein
PRODUCER: Assaf Amir

"Gimme the Loot"
PRODUCERS: Dominic Buchanan, Natalie Difford, Jamund Washington

"Safety Not Guaranteed"
DIRECTOR: Colin Trevorrow
PRODUCERS: Derek Connolly, Stephanie Langhoff, Peter Saraf, Colin Trevorrow, Marc Turtletaub

"Sound of My Voice"
DIRECTOR: Zal Batmanglij
PRODUCERS: Brit Marling, Hans Ritter, Shelley Surpin

"The Perks of Being a Wallflower" -- WINNER
DIRECTOR: Stephen Chbosky
PRODUCERS: Lianne Halfon, John Malkovich, Russell Smith

Best First Screenplay
Rama Burshtein - "Fill the Void"
Derek Connolly - "Safety Not Guaranteed" --WINNER
Christopher Ford - "Robot & Frank"
Rashida Jones & Will McCormack - "Celeste and Jesse Forever"
Jonathan Lisecki - "Gayby"

John Cassavetes Award - Given to the best feature made for under $500,000.
"Breakfast with Curtis"
"Middle of Nowhere" -- WINNER
"Mosquita y Mari"
"The Color Wheel"

Best Female Lead
Linda Cardellini - "Return"
Emayatzy Corinealdi - "Middle of Nowhere"
Jennifer Lawrence - "Silver Linings Playbook" -- WINNER
Quvenzhane Wallis - "Beasts of the Southern Wild"
Mary Elizabeth Winstead - "Smashed"

Best Male Lead
Jack Black - "Bernie"
Bradley Cooper - "Silver Linings Playbook"
John Hawkes - "The Sessions" -- WINNER
Thure Lindhardt - "Keep the Lights On"
Matthew McConaughey - "Killer Joe"
Wendell Pierce - "Four"

Best Supporting Female
Rosemarie DeWitt - "Your Sister's Sister"
Ann Dowd - "Compliance"
Helen Hunt - "The Sessions" -- WINNER
Brit Marling - "Sound of My Voice"
Lorraine Toussaint - "Middle of Nowhere"

Best Supporting Male
Matthew McConaughey - "Magic Mike" -- WINNER
David Oyelowo - "Middle of Nowhere"
Michael Pena - "End of Watch"
Sam Rockwell - "Seven Psychopaths"
Bruce Willis - "Moonrise Kingdom"

Best Cinematography
Yoni Brook - "Valley of Saints"
Lol Crawley - "Here"
Ben Richardson - "Beasts of the Southern Wild" -- WINNER
Roman Vasyanov - "End of Watch"
Robert Yeoman - "Moonrise Kingdom"

Best Documentary
"How to Survive a Plague"
"Marina Abramovic: The Artist is Present"
"The Central Park Five"
"The Invisible War" -- WINNER
"The Waiting Room"

Best International Film
"Amour" (France) -- WINNER
"Once Upon A Time in Anatolia" (Turkey)
"Rust And Bone" (France/Belgium)
"Sister" (Switzerland)
"War Witch" (Democratic Republic of Congo)

16th Annual Piaget Producers Award - The 16th annual Piaget Producers Award honors emerging producers who, despite highly limited resources demonstrate the creativity, tenacity, and vision required to produce quality, independent films. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by Piaget.

"Nobody Walks" - Alicia Van Couvering
"Prince Avalanche" - Derrick Tseng
"Stones in the Sun" - Mynette Louie -- WINNER

19th Annual Someone To Watch Award- The 19th annual Someone to Watch Award recognizes a talented filmmaker of singular vision who has not yet received appropriate recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant.

"Pincus" - David Fenster
"Gimme the Loot" - Adam Leon -- WINNER
"Electrick Children" - Rebecca Thomas

Stella Artois Truer Than Fiction Award - The 18the annual Truer Than Fiction Award is presented to an emerging director of non-fiction features who has not yet received significant recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant.

"Leviathan" - Lucien Castaing-Taylor and Verena Paravel
"The Waiting Room" - Peter Nicks --- WINNER
"Only the Young" - Jason Tippet & Elizabeth Mims

Robert Altman Award - (Given to one film's director, casting director, and its ensemble cast)
"Starlet" -- WINNER

(Copyright ©2018 OnTheRedCarpet.com. All Rights Reserved.)