• BREAKING NEWS ABC shows live and on-demand -- Download the WATCH ABC app!

OTRC: Paul Anka: Jay-Z wouldn't return my calls about album

Jay-Z appears in an undated photo posted on his MySpace page. / Paul Anka appears in a photo from his official Facebook account. (myspace.com/jayz / facebook.com/paulanka)

Legendary music producer Paul Anka isn't too happy with Jay-Z.

The 71-year-old singer, actor and songwriter is set to release his upcoming album "Duets," which features collaborations with Willie Nelson, Michael Jackson, Dolly Parton and more. One artist who is not on the album? Jay-Z -- after he wouldn't return Anka's calls.

"I called up Jay-Z," Anka explained in a March 25 interview with TMZ (Watch video below). "Because Jay-Z, he did a track with 'My Way,' where I lent him a track -- I wanted to put him in on a track with Michael Jackson in the middle."

The rapper sampled the 1969 song "My Way," which Anka wrote, for his recently released album "The Blueprint 2: The Gift & The Curse." The song, which features Frank Sinatra's vocals throughout, can be heard below.

"I called him up, but Jay-Z has totally blown me off," Anka continued. "He won't answer my calls, he's inappropriate in his behavior -- I love his wife, I think she's great -- But Jay-Z wouldn't return my call ... he's too busy with his clothing line, who knows."

Shawn "Jay-Z" Carter has not responded to the comments.

Anka's "Duets" album is a 14-song collection that features the likes of Gloria Estefan, Patti LaBelle, Celine Dion, Tom Jones and Sinatra. Check out the full track listing below and on his website.

"Duets" by Paul Anka

1. "Walk A Fine Line" - with George Benson and Michael McDonald (B)
2. "Find My Way Back To Your Heart" - sung by Paul Anka, background vocal by Tita Hutchison (A)
3. "Do I Love You (Yes, In Every Way)" - with Dolly Parton (B)
4. "This Is It" - with Michael Jackson (B)
5. "I Really Miss You" - with Leon Russell (A)
6. "Think I'm In Love Again" - with Gloria Estefan (B)
7. "Pennies From Heaven" - with Michael Bublé (A)
8. "Crazy" ? with Willie Nelson (B)
9. "You Are My Destiny" - with Patti LaBelle (C)
10."Les Filles de Paris" - with Chris Botti (B)
11."It's Hard To Say Goodbye" - with Celine Dion (C)
12. "She's A Lady" - with Tom Jones (C)
13. "Hold Me 'Til the Morning Comes" - with Peter Cetera (C)
14. "My Way" - with Frank Sinatra (B)

(A) Brand new recording.
(B) New version. Features either new vocals or new musical instrumentation.
(C) Previously appeared on the 1998 album A Body Of Work.

The album, which is set for official release on April 9, can be pre-ordered on Amazon.

Watch Anka's interview below. Also, check out Jay-Z's 2012 sample of Anka's hit song, "My Way." (WARNING -- Jay-Z song contains expletives).

(Copyright ©2018 OnTheRedCarpet.com. All Rights Reserved.)