• BREAKING NEWS ABC shows live and on-demand -- Download the WATCH ABC app!

OTRC: Michael Jackson album 'Xscape,' with 8 new songs, set for May release

Michael Jackson appears on the cover of the 2014 album 'Xscape.' Michael Jackson announces his 'This Is It' London concert series on March 5, 2009. (Epic Records / Richard Young / Startraksphoto.com)

The Michael Jacskon estate and Epic Records have announced exciting news for fans of the beloved pop icon -- new music is coming!

Label executive L.A. Reid announced on March 31 that a new album, titled "Xscape," will feature eight new tracks that were recorded prior to Jackson's untimely death in 2009. The album will be available for pre-order on April 1, with an official release date set for May 13.

"Michael left behind some musical performances that we take great pride in presenting through the vision of music producers that he either worked directly with or expressed strong desire to work with," Reid said in a statement. "We are extremely proud and honored to present this music to the world."

This is the second posthumous release of new music from the King of Pop. In 2010, a compilation album titled "Michael" was released in 2010, featuring the previously unreleased songs "Hold My Hand" and "Hollywood Tonight." Jackson's final official studio album was 2001's "Invisbile," which featured the hit "You Rock My World."

The "Xscape" album features some of the biggest hitmakers in pop music as producers, including Rodney Jerkins, Stargate, Jerome "Jroc" Harmon and John McClain. The songs are expected to sound contemporary and updated to match the current trends in popular music.

Jackson passed away in 2009 after being administered a lethal dose of the anesthetic propofol and other medications. To date, he is renowned as one of the greatest musical acts of all time, with hit albums that span several decades, including "Off The Wall," "Thriller," "Bad," "Dangerous," and "HIStory."

(Copyright ©2018 OnTheRedCarpet.com. All Rights Reserved.)