N.W.A., Prince, R.E.M., more inducted into Grammy Hall of Fame

LOS ANGELES (KABC) -- The Recording Academy announced 25 new musical works on Monday that will be added to the Grammy Hall of Fame.

The singles and albums chosen are all at least 25 years old, which is a requirement.

Among the inductees are Elvis Presley's "Jailhouse Rock," "Losing my Religion" from R.E.M., N.W.A.'s "Straight Outta Compton" and "I Got You Babe" from Sonny and Cher.

The new additions, there are a total of 1,038 recordings in the Grammy Hall of Fame.

The full list of new selections:

  • Arlo Guthrie - "The City of New Orleans"

  • The Beach Boys - "I Get Around"

  • Billie Holiday - "Lady Sings the Blues"

  • Blind Willie McTell - "Statesboro Blues"

  • Bonnie Raitt - "I Can't Make You Love Me"

  • Cab Calloway and His Orchestra - "(Hep-Hep!) The Jumpin' Jive"

  • David Bowie - "Changes"

  • Deep Purple - "Smoke on the Water"

  • Dion - "The Wanderer"

  • Elvis Presley - "Jailhouse Rock"

  • The Everly Brothers - "Wake Up Little Susie"

  • The Jackson 5 - "ABC"

  • Lalo Schifrin - "Mission: Impossible"

  • Lesley Gore - "You Don't Own Me"

  • Louis Armstrong and His Orchestra - "When the Saints Go Marching In"

  • Merle Haggard - Okie From Muskogee

  • Mills Brothers - "You Always Hurt the One You Love"

  • Mississippi John Hurt - "Stack O'Lee Blues"

  • N.W.A - Straight Outta Compton

  • Nirvana - "Smells Like Teen Spirit"

  • Prince - Sign 'O' the Times

  • R.E.M. - "Losing My Religion"

  • Rod Stewart - "Maggie May"

  • Sly & The Family Stone - "Thank You (Falettinme Be Mice Elf Agin)"

  • Sonny & Cher - "I Got You Babe"
Copyright © 2021 KABC-TV. All Rights Reserved.