• BREAKING NEWS ABC shows live and on-demand -- Download the WATCH ABC app!

Motion picture academy invites new members

June 25, 2010 12:00:00 AM PDT
The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has invited 135 new members to join the organization.Adam Sandler, Bono and James Gandolfini are some of the new members.

Also on the list announced Friday are several Oscar winners from this year, including Mo'Nique, best supporting actress for "Precious: Based on the Novel 'Push' by Sapphire,"' Christoph Waltz, best supporting actor for "Inglourious Basterds," and Mark Boal, writer and producer of "The Hurt Locker."

The list also includes previous nominees such as Anna Kendrick, Carey Mulligan, Vera Farmiga, and "District 9" writers Neill Blomkamp and Terri Tatchell.

Documentary makers Davis Guggenheim and Morgan Spurlock also are listed.

They'll all be honored at a reception in September.

The Associated Press contributed to this report.