• BREAKING NEWS ABC shows live and on-demand -- Download the WATCH ABC app!

Michael Moore joins board overseeing Oscars

July 7, 2010 12:00:00 AM PDT
Directors Michael Moore and Kathryn Bigelow have been elected to the board of governors that oversees the Oscars.The pair were among a group of 15 new or returning members elected to three-year terms on the board of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

Each has won an Academy Award; Bigelow in 2010 for "The Hurt Locker" and Moore in 2002 for "Bowling for Columbine."

Ed Begley Jr. was also elected, returning to the board after a hiatus.

The Associated Press contributed to this report