Matthew McConaughey, 176 others asked to join Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences


Some of the 2012 invitees include actor Matthew McConaughey, this year's best supporting actress Oscar winner Octavia Spencer, this year's best actor winner Jean Dujardin, actor Jonah Hill from the film, "Moneyball" and actress Melissa McCarthy from the Oscar-nominated film "Bridesmaids."

"Albert Nobbs" supporting actress Janet McTeer, "A Better Life" star Demian Bichir and best director winner Michel Hazanavicius are also among those asked to become academy members.

Academy president Tom Sherak called the invitees "some of the most talented, most passionate contributors to our industry."

The Associated Press contributed to this report.

Copyright © 2020 KABC-TV. All Rights Reserved.