'House of Cards' online series makes Emmy history


The political saga received a best drama series nomination. The online series garnered a total of nine bids, including acting nominations for stars Kevin Spacey and Robin Wright.

"Netflix is on the scene in a way that is revolutionary. It's streaming. It's a new way of consuming TV. Also unloading the whole series at once, and they were quite rewarded for that with 'House of Cards,'" said Scott Feinberg, an awards analyst with "The Hollywood Reporter."

Check out the full list of nominations for the 65th Primetime Emmy Awards

Coming up on top, "American Horror Story: Asylum" scared up 17 nominations. Close behind was "Game of Thrones" with 16 nods, while "Saturday Night Live" and the Liberace biopic "Behind the Candelabra" earned 15 nominations each. Also in the running are "Breaking Bad," "Downton Abbey," "Mad Men" and last year's winner, "Homeland."

Another Netflix series, "Arrested Development," didn't earn a best comedy series but scored three nominations, including one for star Jason Bateman.

Other nominees for best actor in a comedy are Alec Baldwin for "30 Rock," Louis C.K. for "Louis," Don Cheadle for "House of Lies," Matt LeBlanc for "Episodes" and Jim Parsons for "The Big Bang Theory."

In the comedy category, the nominees are "The Big Bang Theory," ''Girls," ''Louie," ''Modern Family," ''Veep" and "30 Rock," recognized for its final season. Another outgoing comedy, "The Office," didn't receive a best series nod.

"Veep" star Julia Louis Dreyfus also made Emmy history. With her nomination for outstanding lead actress in a comedy, she has now surpassed Lucille Ball's record of 13 nominations.

She's up against Laura Dern for "Enlightened," Lena Dunham for "Girls," Edie Falco for "Nurse Jackie," Amy Poehler for "Parks and Recreation" and Tina Fey for "30 Rock."

Last year's lead acting winners in the drama category are both repeat nominees. Both Claire Danes and Damein Lewis received nominations.

Competing against Danes are Connie Britton, Michelle Dockery, Vera Farmiga, Elizabeth Moss, Kerry Washington and Robin Wright

For Lewis, the competition includes Hugh Bonneville, Bryan Cranston, Jeff Daniels, Jon Hamm and Kevin Spacey.

The 65th Primetime Emmy Award will be hosted by Neil Patrick Harris and air Sept. 22 on CBS.

Copyright © 2023 KABC Television, LLC. All rights reserved.