• BREAKING NEWS ABC shows live and on-demand -- Download the WATCH ABC app!

OTRC: Independent Spirit Awards 2014: Full list of winners

The winners of the 2014 Independent Spirit Awards were announced on Friday, March 1.

The ceremony was hosted by comedian Patton Oswalt and held in Santa Monica, California, a day before the 2014 Oscars.

Several Oscar nominees took home awards, including actors Lupita Nyong'o, Matthew McConaughey, Cate Blanchett and Jared Leto, while the movie "12 Years a Slave," up for Best Picture at the Oscars, received the Independent Spirit Award for Best Feature.

Check out a full list of winners of the award show, formally called the Film Independent Spirit Awards, below.

Best Feature
"12 Years a Slave" - WINNER
"All Is Lost"
"Frances Ha"
"Inside Llewyn Davis"

Best Director
Shame Carruth - "Upstream Color"
J.C. Chandor - "All Is Lost"
Steve McQueen - "12 Years a Slave" - WINNER
Jeff Nicholes - "Mud"
Alexander Payne - "Nebraska"

Best Screenplay
Woody Allen - "Blue Jasmine"
Julie Delpy, Ethan Hawke and Richard Linklater - "Before Midnight"
Nicole Holofcener - "Enough Said"
Scott Neustadter and Michael H. Weber - "The Spectacular Now"
John Ridley - "12 Years a Slave" - WINNER

Best First Feature (Award given to director and producer)
"Blue Caprice"
"Fruitvale Station" - WINNER
"Una Noche"

Best First Screenplay
Lake Bell - "In A World"
Joseph Gordon-Levitt - "Don Jon"
Bob Nelson - "Nebraska" - WINNER
Jill Soloway - "Afternoon Delight"
Michael Starrbury - "The Inevitable Defeat of Mister and Pete"

John Cassavetes Award (Given to best feature made for under $500,000)
"Computer Chess"
"Crystal Fairy"
"Museum Hours"
"Pit Stop"
"This is Martin Bonner" - WINNER

Best Female Lead
Cate Blanchett - "Blue Jasmine" - WINNER
Julie Delpy - "Before Midnight"
Gaby Hoffmann - "Crystal Fairy"
Brie Larson - "Short Term 12"
Shailene Woodley - "The Spectacular Now"

Best Male Lead
Bruce Dern - "Nebraska"
Chiwetel Ejiofor - "12 Years a Slave"
Oscar Isaac - "Inside Llewyn Davis"
Michael B. Jordan - "Fruitvale Station"
Matthew McConaughey - "Dallas Buyers Club" - WINNER
Robert Redford - "All Is Lost"

Best Supporting Female
Melonie Diaz - "Fruitvale Station"
Sally Hawkins - "Blue Jasmine"
Lupita Nyong'o - "12 Years a Slave" - WINNER
Yolonda Ross - "Go For Sisters"
June Squibb - "Nebraska"

Best Supporting Male
Michael Fassbender - "12 Years a Slave"
Will Forte - "Nebraska"
James Gandolfini - "Enough Said"
Jared Leto - "Dallas Buyers Club" - WINNER
Keith Stanfield - "Short Term 12"

Best Cinematography
Sean Bobbitt - "12 Years a Slave" - WINNER
Benoit Debie - "Spring Breakers"
Bruno Delbonnel - "Inside Llewyn Davis"
Frank G. DeMarco - "All Is Lost"
Matthias Grunsky - "Computer Chess"

Best Editing
Shane Carruth and David Lowery - "Upstream Color"
Jem Choen and Marc Vives - "Museum Hours"
Jennifer Lame - "Frances Ha"
Cindy Lee - "Una Noche"
Nat Sanders - "Short Term 12" - WINNER

Best Documentary
"20 Feet From Stardom" - WINNER
"After Tiller"
"Gideon's Army"
"The Act of Killing"
"The Square"

Best International Film
"A Touch of Sin" - China
"Blue is the Warmest Color" - France - WINNER
"Gloria" - Chile
"The Great Beauty" - Italy
"The Hunt" - Denmark

17th annual Piaget Producer's Award - The 17th annual Producers Award, sponsored by Piaget, honors emerging producers who, despite highly limited resources demonstrate the creativity, tenacity, and vision required to produce quality, independent films. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by Piaget.

Toby Halbrooks and James M. Johnston - WINNER
Jacob Jaffke
Andrea Roa
Frederick Thornton

20th annual Someone To Watch Award - The 20th annual Someone to Watch Award recognizes a talented filmmaker of singular vision who has not yet received appropriate recognition.

"My Sister's Quinceanera"
"Newlyweds" - WINNER
"The Foxy Merkins"

19th annual Stella Artois Truer Than Fiction Award - The 19th annual Truer Than Fiction Award, sponsored by Stella Artois, is presented to an emerging director of non-fiction features who has not yet received significant recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant.

Kalyanee Mam - "A River Changes Course"
Jason Osder - "Let the Fire Burn" - WINNER
Stephanie Spray and Pacho Velez - "Manakamana"

Robert Altman Award (Given to one of film's director, casting director and ensemble cast)

(Copyright ©2018 OnTheRedCarpet.com. All Rights Reserved.)