'Schitt's Creek' wins 1st 7 Emmys of the night: See the full list of 2020 Emmy winners

"Schitt's Creek," the little Canadian show about a fish-out-of-water family, made history at Sunday's Emmy Awards with a comedy awards sweep.

OTRC logo
Sunday, September 20, 2020
Highlights of 2020 Emmy nominations
EMBED <>More Videos

Here are highlights from the 2020 Emmy nominations.

LOS ANGELES -- The cast and crew of "Schitt's Creek" swept the first hour of the 72nd Primetime Emmy Awards, winning the first six awards of the night in acting, writing and directing categories. Here's a full list of 2020 Emmy winners and nominees from Sunday night's telecast.


Outstanding Comedy Series

  • "Curb Your Enthusiasm," HBO
  • "Dead To Me," Netflix
  • "The Good Place," NBC
  • "Insecure," HBO
  • "The Kominsky Method," Netflix
  • "The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel," Prime Video
  • WINNER: "Schitt's Creek," Pop
  • "What We Do In The Shadows," FX Networks

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Comedy Series

  • Anthony Anderson, "Black-ish"
  • Don Cheadle, "Black Monday"
  • Ted Danson, "The Good Place"
  • Michael Douglas, "The Kominsky Method"
  • WINNER: Eugene Levy, "Schitt's Creek"
  • Ramy Youssef, "Ramy"

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Comedy Series

  • Christina Applegate, "Dead to Me"
  • Rachel Brosnahan, "The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel"
  • Linda Cardellini, "Dead to Me"
  • WINNER: Catherine O'Hara, "Schitt's Creek"
  • Issa Rae, "Insecure"
  • Tracee Ellis Ross, "Black-ish"

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series

  • Yvonne Orji, "Insecure"
  • Alex Borstein, "The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel"
  • Betty Gilpin, "GLOW"
  • Marin Hinkle, "The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel"
  • Kate McKinnon, "Saturday Night Live"
  • Cecily Strong, "Saturday Night Live"
  • D'Arcy Carden, "The Good Place;"
  • WINNER: Annie Murphy, "Schitt's Creek"

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series

  • Mahershala Ali, "Ramy"
  • Alan Arkin, "The Kominsky Method"
  • Sterling K. Brown, "The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel"
  • WINNER: Daniel Levy, "Schitt's Creek"
  • Tony Shalhoub, "The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel"
  • Kenan Thompson, "Saturday Night Live"
  • William Jackson, "The Good Place"
  • Andre Braugher, "Brooklyn Nine-Nine"

Outstanding Writing for a Comedy Series:

  • Michael Schur, "The Good Place"
  • Tony McNamara, "The Great"
  • WINNER: Dan Levy, "Schitt's Creek"
  • David West Read, "Schitt's Creek"
  • Sam Johnson & Chris Marcil, "What We Do In The Shadows"
  • Paul Simms, "What We Do In The Shadows"
  • Stefani Robinson, "What We Do In The Shadows"

Outstanding Directing For A Comedy Series

  • Matt Shakman, "The Great"
  • Amy Sherman-Palladino, "The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel"
  • Daniel Palladino, "The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel "
  • Gail Mancuso, "Modern Family"
  • Ramy Youssef, "Ramy"
  • WINNER: Andrew Cividino, Daniel Levy, "Schitt's Creek"
  • James Burrows, "Will & Grace"


Outstanding Drama Series

  • "Better Call Saul," AMC
  • "The Crown," Netflix
  • "The Handmaid's Tale," Hulu
  • "Killing Eve," BBC America
  • "The Mandalorian," Disney+
  • "Ozark," Netflix
  • "Stranger Things," Netflix
  • WINNER: "Succession," HBO

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama Series

  • Jason Bateman, "Ozark"
  • Sterling K. Brown, "This Is Us"
  • Steve Carell, "The Morning Show"
  • Brian Cox, "Succession"
  • Billy Porter, "Pose"
  • WINNER: Jeremy Strong, "Succession"

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Drama Series

  • Jennifer Aniston, "The Morning Show"
  • Olivia Colman, "The Crown"
  • Jodie Comer, "Killing Eve"
  • Laura Linney, "Ozark"
  • Sandra Oh, "Killing Eve"
  • WINNER: Zendaya, "Euphoria"

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series

  • Kieran Culkin, "Succession"
  • WINNER: Billy Crudup, "The Morning Show"
  • Giancarlo Esposito, "Better Call Saul"
  • Bradley Whitford, "The Handmaid's Tale"
  • Mark Duplass, "The Morning Show"
  • Nicholas Braun, "Succession"
  • Matthew Macfadyen, "Succession"
  • Jeffery Wright, "Westworld"

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series

  • Helena Bonham Carter, "The Crown"
  • Laura Dern, "Big Little Lies"
  • WINNER: Julia Garner, "Ozark"
  • Thandie Newton, "Westworld"
  • Fiona Shaw, "Killing Eve"
  • Sarah Snook, "Succession"
  • Meryl Streep, "Big Little Lies"
  • Samira Wiley, "The Handmaid's Tale"

Outstanding Writing For A Drama Series

  • Thomas Schnauz, "Better Call Saul"
  • Gordon Smith, "Better Call Saul"
  • Peter Morgan, "The Crown
  • Chris Mundy, "Ozark"
  • John Shiban, "Ozark"
  • Miki Johnson, "Ozark"
  • WINNER: Jesse Armstrong, "Succession"

Outstanding Directing For A Drama Series

  • Benjamin Caron, "The Crown"
  • Jessica Hobbs, "The Crown"
  • Lesli Linka Glatter, "Homeland"
  • Mimi Leder, "The Morning Show"
  • Alik Sakharov, "Ozark"
  • Ben Semanoff, "Ozark"
  • WINNER: Andrij Parekh, "Succession"
  • Mark Mylod, "Succession"


Outstanding Limited Series

  • "Little Fires Everywhere," Hulu
  • "Mrs. America," FX Networks
  • "Unbelievable," Netflix
  • "Unorthodox," Netflix
  • WINNER: "Watchmen," HBO

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Limited Series or Movie

  • Jeremy Irons, "Watchmen"
  • Hugh Jackman, "Bad Education"
  • Paul Mescal, "Normal People"
  • Jeremy Pope, "Hollywood"
  • WINNER: Mark Ruffalo, "I Know This Much is True"

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Limited Series or Movie

  • Cate Blanchett, "Mrs. America"
  • Shira Haas, "Unorthodox"
  • WINNER: Regina King, "Watchmen"
  • Octavia Spencer, "Self Made: Inspired by the Life of Madam C.J. Walker"
  • Kerry Washington, "Little Fires Everywhere"

Outstanding Supporting Actor In A Limited Series Or Movie

  • Dylan McDermott, "Hollywood"
  • Jim Parsons, "Hollywood"
  • Tituss Burgess, "Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt: Kimmy vs. The Reverend "
  • WINNER: Yahya Abdul-Mateen II, "Watchmen"
  • Jovan Adepo, "Watchmen"
  • Louis Gossett Jr., "Watchmen"

Outstanding Supporting Actress In A Limited Series Or Movie

  • Holland Taylor, "Hollywood"
  • WINNER: Uzo Aduba, "Mrs. America"
  • Margo Martindale, "Mrs. America"
  • Tracey Ullman, "Mrs. America"
  • Toni Collette , "Unbelievable"
  • Jean Smart, "Watchmen"

Outstanding Writing For A Limited Series, Movie Or Dramatic Special

  • Tanya Barfield, "Mrs. America "
  • Sally Rooney & Alice Birch, "Normal People"
  • Susannah Grant & Michael Chabon & Ayelet Waldman, "Unbelievable"
  • Anna Winger, "Unorthodox"
  • WINNER: Damon Lindelof & Cord Jefferson, "Watchmen"

Outstanding Directing For A Limited Series, Movie Or Dramatic Special

  • Lynn Shelton, "Little Fires Everywhere"
  • Lenny Abrahamson, "Normal People"
  • WINNER: Maria Schrader, "Unorthodox"
  • Nicole Kassell, "Watchmen"
  • Steph Green, "Watchmen"
  • Stephen Williams, "Watchmen"

Outstanding Variety Talk Series

  • "The Daily Show with Trevor Noah," Comedy Central
  • "Full Frontal with Samantha Bee," TBS
  • "Jimmy Kimmel Live!," ABC
  • WINNER: "Last Week Tonight with John Oliver," HBO
  • "The Late Show with Stephen Colbert," CBS

Outstanding Reality Competition Program

  • "The Masked Singer"
  • "Nailed It!"
  • WINNER: "RuPaul's Drag Race"
  • "Top Chef"
  • "The Voice"

Click here to see the full list of Emmy nominees.

The Associated Press contributed to this report.

The Walt Disney Company is the parent company of FX, Hulu, Disney+ and this ABC station.