Amendments 1, 2 approved; election cycles to be held in even-numbered years

LOS ANGELES (KABC) -- Local election cycles will now be held in even-numbered years on the presidential election ballot, thanks to the voter approval of charter amendments 1 and 2.

The amendments were supported by 77 percent of the vote, even with low voter turnout at the polls.

Supporters of the amendments said that the move from odd-numbered years to even-numbered years would be a way to boost voter turnout because larger elections traditionally draw in more people.

Because the next election cycle is not until 2020, current City Council members will serve five-year terms.

With 100 percent of precincts reporting, the results show the following:

LA City Council, District 2 - Paul Krekorian won with 74.7 percent of votes.

LA City Council, District 4 - There will be a runoff for termed-out City Councilman Tom Labonge's city hall seat between Carolyn Ramsey and either David Ryu or Tomas O'Grady.

LA City Council District 6 - Nury Martinez declared victory with 60.9 percent of votes, 18 months after winning a special election for that seat.

LA City Council District 8 - Marqueece Harris-Dawson won with 61.2 percent of votes.

LA City Council District 10 - Herb J. Wesson Jr. won with 63.5 percent of votes.

LA City Council District 12 - Mitchell Englander won with 100 percent of votes.

LA City Council District 14 - Jose Huizar had a dominant night in his race for re-election with 65.8 percent of votes, defeating challenger and long-time County Supervisor Gloria Molina.

For more election results, visit

Copyright © 2019 KABC-TV. All Rights Reserved.