Patrick Kane, Sidney Crosby, Jamie Benn finalists for Hart Trophy

ESPN logo
Saturday, May 7, 2016

Patrick Kane, Sidney Crosby and Jamie Benn were named finalists Saturday for the Hart Memorial Trophy, which is awarded each year to the NHL's most valuable player.

Kane, 27, led the NHL with 106 points this season. In doing so, the Chicago Blackhawks forward became the first American-born player to lead the league in scoring. He is vying to become the first Blackhawks player to win the Hart Trophy since Stan Mikita won the second of back-to-back MVP honors in 1968.

Crosby, 28, is a two-time Hart Trophy winner (2013, '07) and would join Mario Lemieux as the only Pittsburgh Penguins players to win the award three times if he takes the award this year. The Penguins captain led the team in points for a fourth straight season. His 85 points were third in the NHL and most by a center this season.

Benn, 26, finished second in the NHL with 89 points. The Dallas Stars' captain played in all 82 regular-season games and posted career bests in power-play goals (17) and goals (41). The forward is the first player in Stars franchise history to be named a finalist for the Hart Trophy.

Benn's 14 points (five goals, nine assists) are the most in postseason play this year.

Kane and Benn also are finalists for the Ted Lindsay Award, given by the NHL Players Association to the "most outstanding player" as voted on by fellow players. Washington Capitals goaltenderBraden Holtby is the other finalist for that award.

The winner of the Hart Trophy, which is determined by a poll of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association following the regular season, will be announced on June 22 at the league's award show in Las Vegas.