Award predictions for the 2015 season

ESPN logo
Tuesday, April 7, 2015

Who's going to win the major awards in 2015?

We recently polled 88 ESPN experts for their award predictions (rookies, Cy Youngs and MVPs) for the upcoming season.

Mike Trout ran away from the field as our pick to win the American League MVP, receiving 60 percent (53 of the 88 votes) of the vote from our panel of experts. Robinson Cano finished second with 20 votes followed by Jose Abreu (5), Miguel Cabrera (3), Josh Donaldson (2), Hanley Ramirez (2), Michael Brantley (1), Dustin Pedroia (1) and Alex Rodriguez (1).

Our polling for the National League MVP was much closer as Giancarlo Stanton (35 votes) edged Andrew McCutchen (27) for the top spot. Bryce Harper (10) finished third followed by Yasiel Puig (9) and Troy Tulowitzki (2). Kris Bryant, Matt Holliday, Matt Kemp, Anthony Rendon and Justin Upton each received one vote.

Felix Hernandez and Clayton Kershaw easily outdistanced the field in the AL and NL Cy Young balloting, collecting 52 and 55 votes, respectively. Chris Sale (19 votes) finished second in the AL followed by David Price (6). Nine other AL pitchers received votes. Max Scherzer (7 votes) came in second in the NL, and 10 other pitchers received at least one vote.

Bryant (51 votes) was the clear winner in voting for the NL Rookie of the Year. Fellow Cub Jorge Soler (18) finished second. Rusney Castillo came out on top in the AL rookie race, collecting 17 votes. Dalton Pompey (12) was second.

Below are 15 of our experts' picks for '15: