Garth Brooks, Alan Jackson honored for songwriting


They join Allen Shamblin, John Bettis and Thom Schuyler as this year's inductees.

Jackson has written or co-written 24 of his 35 No. 1 singles, including "Chattahoochee" and "Where Were You (When The World Stopped Turning)." Brooks also penned many of his own hits, like "The Thunder Rolls" and "The River."

Shamblin's credits include Miranda Lambert's "The House That Built Me" and Bonnie Raitt's "I Can't Make You Love Me." Bettis is known for pop-country crossovers such as "Slow Hand", by The Pointer Sisters and later Conway Twitty.

Schuyler wrote the Kenny Rogers hit "Love Will Turn You Around."

The induction ceremony is set to take place Oct. 16 in Nashville.

The Associated Press contributed to this report.

Copyright © 2023 KABC Television, LLC. All rights reserved.