XFL unveils 8 new team names, including Los Angeles Wildcats

BEVERLY HILLS, Calif. (KABC) -- As the new XFL prepares to launch in 2020, the league unveiled the names and logos of its eight new teams - including the Los Angeles Wildcats.

The league's commissioner, Oliver Luck, revealed the teams in a video broadcast.

"I am so excited to introduce Los Angeles to the Los Angeles Wildcats," said Heather Brooks Karatz, the president of the Wildcats. "It's the perfect names, colors and logo for our city."

Karatz described the Wildcats as "grit over glamour" and said the team will provide a fan-friendly experience.

"It's really about putting our fans first. We want to provide more access for our community to the sport and the game-day experience. And of course, make it affordable."

The XFL will play a 10-week season in the spring followed by a two-week postseason. The league has been working to develop a pool of players and a draft will be held in October to fill out rosters.

EMBED More News Videos

The XFL on Wednesday unveiled the names and logos of its eight new teams, including the Los Angeles Wildcats.

The league returns after having its lone season in 2001. It was originally a joint project between the WWF and NBC, with its rules allowing for tougher play.

ABC7 will be broadcasting Wildcats games.
Related topics:
sportslos angelesxfl
Copyright © 2021 KABC Television, LLC. All rights reserved.