• BREAKING NEWS ABC shows live and on-demand -- Download the WATCH ABC app!

Guide to when other time zones enter 2010

December 31, 2009 9:28:19 PM PST
Those of us in Los Angeles and Southern California are among the last to celebrate the New Year. From 2 a.m. on Dec. 31, 2009, find out at what time in the Pacific Time Zone other countries around the world will be celebrating:

New Year's Eve gets underway at 2 a.m. in Kiritimati (Kiribati - Christmas Islands).

The clock ticks midnight at 5 a.m. in Sydney, Australia.

Tokyo, Japan enters the new year at 7 a.m.

Beijing, China toasts midnight at 8 a.m.

At 10:30 a.m., they will be celebrating in New Delhi, India.

Troops serving in Kabul, Afghanistan will celebrate at 11:30 a.m.

Moscow, Russia will toast champagne (or vodka shots) at 1 p.m.

2010 arrives at 2 p.m. in Cairo, Egypt.

Vatican City will welcome the new year at 3 p.m.

London, England celebrates 2010 at 4 p.m.

Sao Paulo, Brazil will be cheering the new year at 6 p.m.

The ball will drop in Times Square of New York City at 9 p.m.

The 8.8 million residents of Mexico City, Mexico will celebrate at 10 p.m.

Edmonton, Canada welcomes 2010 at 11 p.m.

Past midnight in Los Angeles, on Jan. 1, 2010 at 1 a.m., Anchorage, Alaska will join in the new year's celebration.

President Barack Obama and the First Family will welcome 2010 at their vacation home in Honolulu at 2 a.m. on Jan. 1.

The entire world will have joined 2010 at 3 a.m. Los Angeles-time as Pago Pago in American Somoa rings in the new year.