Drew Doughty, Erik Karlsson, Brent Burns up for NHL's top defenseman

ESPN logo
Friday, May 13, 2016

NEW YORK -- Los Angeles' Drew Doughty, Ottawa's Erik Karlsson and San Jose's Brent Burns are the finalists for the James Norris Memorial Trophy as the NHL's top defenseman.

Members of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association submitted ballots at the end of the regular season, with the top three designated finalists on Friday. The winner will be announced June 22 during the NHL Awards in Las Vegas.

Doughty had career highs with 14 goals, 51 points and a plus-24 rating and was third in the league in average ice time at 28:01. He was third in the voting in 2010 and second last year.

Karlsson won the award in 2012 and 2015. He set Senators records for a defenseman with 82 points and an NHL-high 66 assists this season. He led the league in average time at 28:58.

Burns set Sharks records for a defenseman with 27 goals, 48 assists and 75 points.