Source: Tom Coughlin joins NFL's competition committee

ByAdam Schefter ESPN logo
Thursday, August 25, 2016

Along with John Elway and Bruce Arians, former New York Giants head coach Tom Coughlin has also been added to the NFL's competition committee, according to a source.

It appears as if Los Angeles Rams coach Jeff Fisher is the only member of the committee that has stepped aside, and the rest of the competition committee remains intact, for now.

Also, the NFL will have a newly formed Chairman's Committee that will handle strategies and priorities for the NFL. The newly-formed committee will be composed of Chiefs owner Clark Hunt, Patriots owner Robert Kraft, Steelers president Art Rooney, Texans owner Bob McNair and Giants owner John Mara.

Falcons owner Arthur Blank, meanwhile, will chair a committee that will determine the annual compensation of NFL employees, such as commissioner Roger Goodell. The other members of that committee will be chosen by Blank.

The competition committee, whose members are selected by Goodell, currently has nine members and is led by chairman Rich McKay, who is the president of the Atlanta Falcons.

The other members are the Giants' Mara, Dallas Cowboys owner Stephen Jones, Green Bay Packers president Mark Murphy, Baltimore Ravens general manager Ozzie Newsome, Houston Texans general manager Rick Smith, the Rams' Fisher, Cincinnati Bengals coach Marvin Lewis and Pittsburgh Steelers coach Mike Tomlin.

Fisher announced in February that he was stepping down from the committee. It is not known which other member of the committee is resigning his post.

The competition committee annually reviews rules proposals and makes recommendations on changes. Owners then vote on the recommended rules changes at the annual league meetings, with 75 percent support (24 of 32 owners) needed before rules are adopted or revised.