Rose Parade 2013: 7 Rose Court members chosen


This year's seven Rose Court members are Kathryne Alice Benuska of Maranatha High School, Tracy Italia Cresta of La Salle High School, Vanessa Natalie Manjarrez of Mayfield Senior School, Victoria Sophia McGregor of Flintridge Sacred Heart Academy, Nicole Cherie Nelam of Pasadena High School, Sonia Marie Shenoi of San Marino High School and Madison Michelle Barili Teodo of La Canada High School. Each member is 17 years old.

"These seven young women are each exceptional and we are thrilled that they will be representing the Tournament of Roses," Joan Madsen, chair of the Queen and Court Committee, said in a statement. "Among the many outstanding applicants this year, these seven really rose to the top. We know they will be terrific role models and handle their numerous commitments with poise and grace."

The Royal Court members were chosen from a field of 33 finalists. The hopefuls were selected from a pool of 900 applicants who applied to preside over the 124th Tournament of Roses Parade held on New Year's Day.

This year's parade's theme is centered on Dr. Seuss's book "Oh, the Places You'll Go!".

The Rose Queen will be selected from among the Royal Court princesses on Oct. 16.

Copyright © 2024 KABC Television, LLC. All rights reserved.