• BREAKING NEWS ABC shows live and on-demand -- Download the WATCH ABC app!

'Forrest Gump' joins Library of Congress' National Film Registry

Still of Tom Hanks in 'Forrest Gump.' ( Paramount Pictures)

December 28, 2011 12:00:00 AM PST
"Forrest Gump" has been immortalized, joining the Library of Congress' National Film Registry.

The 1994 Tom Hanks movie is one of 25 films named to join the prestigious list of movies that are considered culturally or historically significant.

That means the Library of Congress works to preserve it for future generations.

Other movies included in this year's list include "The Kid, "Bambi," "War of the Worlds," "Stand and Deliver" and "The Silence of the Lambs."

Under the terms of the National Film Preservation Act, each year the Librarian of Congress names 25 films that are "culturally, historically or aesthetically" significant. This year, 2,228 films were nominated.

Here are all the films selected in 2011 by the Library of Congress to be preserved as part of the National Film Registry:

"Allures" (1961)
"Bambi" (1942)
"The Big Heat" (1953)
"A Computer Animated Hand" (1972)
"Crisis: Behind A Presidential Commitment" (1963)
"The Cry of the Children" (1912)
"A Cure for Pokeritis" (1912)
"El Mariachi" (1992)
"Faces" (1968)
"Fake Fruit Factory" (1986)
"Forrest Gump" (1994)
"Growing Up Female" (1971)
"Hester Street" (1975)
"I, an Actress" (1977)
"The Iron Horse" (1924)
"The Kid" (1921)
"The Lost Weekend" (1945)
"The Negro Soldier" (1944)
"Nicholas Brothers Family Home Movies" (1930s-40s)
"Norma Rae" (1979)
"Porgy and Bess" (1959)
"The Silence of the Lambs" (1991)
"Stand and Deliver" (1988)
"Twentieth Century" (1934)
"War of the Worlds" (1953)

The Associated Press contributed to this report.